Fitness

How I Trained for a 15-K in 7 Weeks

Training for a 15-k in 7 weeks can be daunting to anyone without a running background. Running a 15-k alone is quite the feat. That was how I felt when my husband suggested we sign-up for our local 15-k run, last March.

I probably would never have done it, let alone consider it, if it weren’t for my wonderful husband who motivates me to push myself harder than I think I can.

With only having about 8 weeks before the run, I wanted to make sure I was ready well before the actual race. With the help of online sources, I came up with a great beginners training plan. By beginners, I mean those you have never ran a 15-k.

This plan progresses enough to get you in race shape fairly quick, yet gives you enough break so that you don’t over exert yourself.

 

7 Week Training Plan: 15-K Run [Click for Print Friendly Version]dd

If you try my plan, let me know what you think and how it worked out for you!

Any other tips or suggestions? Let me know in the comment box!

Below are some pictures of the race my husband, Jake, and I ran in last March.

race_2101_photo_32322968

I hate the next picture but it was the only closeup of me so…lol

race_2101_photo_32285114

It was raining pretty good the majority of the time we were there. Needless to say, I was soaked! Hadn’t even gone a mile before I could feel the water soaking through my shoes and clothing. After a while, I stopped avoiding the puddles.

Untitled.jpg

Yay I finished! Ran through the finish line in 1:36.37. Not my fastest but HEY…I was just happy I finished.

race_2101_photo_32410715

Since training, the 15-k was a lot easier than I thought. Well…I wouldn’t call it easy, but I didn’t feel like I was going to die at the end. I even felt like I could have gone longer. Next stop HALF MARATHON!

img_0536

Like I said, it was raining pretty good the entire time we were there. I found it kind of nice while I was running; refreshing. But afterwards when we cooled down…COLD AS ICE! Jake portrays that really well in his face lol.img_0538

We each got a cool medal for finishing. What was cool is that they also double as a BOTTLE OPENER!!
Follow me at Miss Molly Love

2 thoughts on “How I Trained for a 15-K in 7 Weeks

Leave a Reply

