Beauty · DIY

Apple Cider Vinegar Skin Toner

Today, I wanted to share my experience testing an Apple Cider Vinegar Toner on my face.

I never really used toner for my face before. The one time I did try a toner, it dried my face out quite a bit. In fact, the toner made my face burn. After that, I never used it again.

Lately, I have been breaking-out a lot on my chin and my pores seemed amplified when I apply foundation.

Before, I never truly knew what the purpose of toner was. I had read a bit about how toner removes dirt, closes pores and helps in removing makeup, and thought it might help in making my pores look smaller and prevent these recent break-outs.

Here is what I used. I made a small batch just to be able to try it.

Apple Cider Vinegar Skin Toner

  • 4 TBSP Organic Unfiltered Apple Cider (unfiltered is best because it contains the “mother”, a collection of cellulose and acetic acid bacteria. This is what turns alcohol into vinegar)
  • 8 TBSP Filtered Water
  • Cotton Balls (to apply)

img_1967

 

After washing and cleansing my face, I completely saturated a cotton ball then squeezed out the excess.

I applied the ACV toner on my biggest problem areas (chin), then in areas that typically accumulate the most oil (Forehead and nose), and ultimately around my whole face.

I just let the concoction dry on my face and applied my normal face lotion.

So far, I’m pretty impressed. I don’t seem to be getting anymore pimples (they started to be a daily occurrence).

I wasn’t sure if it was actually making my pores smaller, but here is a side by side picture.

 

PicMonkey Collage

I don’t know about you, but my pores look smaller to me. This picture was taken within minutes of applying the toner. What do you think?

With not having a lot of experience using toner, I want to do a comparison of the ACV toner vs. a good store bought product.

I’ve been researching toners to purchase in order to compare.

Is there a toner that you use that you particularly like?

Let me know. Depending on the response, I may try your suggestion and post it in a later post.

Thanks for reading!

Molly

Don’t forget to follow my blog to be updated on my results.

You can also follow me on Bloglovin and Tumblr.

5 thoughts on “Apple Cider Vinegar Skin Toner

Leave a Reply

