Beauty · Reviews

Ulta Haul: Makeup Product Reviews


In the last couple months, I have pretty much replaced all my go-to makeup with, I guess you could call, high-end makeup. Before, I was very much the girl who looked for the best possible deal rather than the best quality.

This isn’t to say that drugstore/inexpensive makeup is not of good quality. But the benefit of buying makeup at places such as Sephora or Ulta, is that you have the ability to try out the product beforehand. As for drugstores, they typically don’t offer testing of most, if not all, their offered makeup.

Today, I wanted to share my thoughts and opinions on my latest Ulta haul, having never used any of these products prior to this recent purchase.

I have been using all these product, below, for about a month or two. Based off my experience, here are my conclusions, pros & cons, of these products.

My first product I have been using is the IT Cosmetics Your Skin But Better CC Cream with SPF 50+ in the shade Medium.

itcosmetics.jpg

This is a CC cream which stands for Color Corrector. I mentioned this product and others, below, in my recent blog post about transitioning to a summer makeup routine.

I really liked the IT brand, so far. The CC cream adjusts it’s color by combining with your face’s PH. The benefit of the Color Corrector it can change colors to about 2 shades darker or lighter, depending on your sun exposure.

You can pretty much see the color change occur as you apply it to your face. It’s not a drastic change, but it’s noticeable.

Since it is a tinted moisturizer, it is very creamy and smooth. I enjoy massaging it into my skin. I have been using my fingers to apply it for the past month. The reason I have been using my fingers is greatly because I didn’t have a brush I felt could spread the product well.

Pros

  • Smells great
  • Moisturizes and has anti-aging benefits
  • Has a good amount of coverage while still making it look natural
  • Adjusts to your skins PH

Cons

  • None at the moment

Recommend???

YES

For the last couple months, I’ve been using Tarte’s Lights, Camera, Lashes 4-in-1 Mascara in Black, and Lights, Camera, Lashes Precision Longwear Liquid Eyeliner in black.

TarteReview.jpg

Initially, both the liner and the mascara were the best I have ever used! The liner was so precise and the mascara made my lashes appear big and bold. Both had a very smooth application.

Unfortunately, after a month, they both dried out. This is a common problem with ANY mascara and pen liner. When you are constantly opening the cap, it’s bound to dry out.

I’m still using both of these products by adding eye drops to the mascara and running warm water over the liner with the cap on. This somewhat works, but it’s still not the same.

If you have a surefire way of keeping your mascara and liner from drying out, I would highly recommend both of these. Besides the drying out, they work really well. This would be up to you whether or not you think it’s worth the money.

Mascara

Pros

  • Eco-friendly ingredients
  • Lengthens, curls, volumizes, and conditions lashes (4 – in – 1)
  • Doesn’t flake

Cons

  • Dries up in a month or so

Recommend???

YES (if you are willing to take some preventative measures to keep it from drying out)

Eyeliner

Pros

  • Eco-friendly ingredients
  • Precise
  • Is a dark black & doesn’t fade (some liners take a few coats to make a solid black line)
  • Long lasting

Cons

  • Tip of felt dries out
  • Dries up in about a month

Recommend???

This is a tough one. MAYBE…?

It is truly wonderful the first month of use. You would need to take precautions, in order to keep the pen from being exposed to the air too long. I haven’t come up with a great way to help with that, except for running it under warm water.

If you have tips on how to keep your eyeliner pen from drying out, LET ME KNOW! I would love to test it out.

Urban Decay Sheer Revolution in the shade Sheer Obsession

UrbanDecay

I love this lipstick and I guess everyone else does too! In looking for the link to buy this lipstick, I couldn’t find it for the life of me!

Finally, I googled the name (imagine that) and found it on Urban Decay’s website. IT IS ALL SOLD OUT! Lucky me I guess.I grabbed this little gem at the register as an impulse buy (it was half-off).

I love the feel of this lipstick. The application is so smooth and it doesn’t dry out your lips. The shade itself is a nice subtle pink, enough color to notice but not too much that it is over powering. This is great if you are not comfortable wearing colorful lipstick or gloss.

Pros

  • Smooth and Buttery application
  • Has shea butter, jojoba, olive and babassu oils to moisturize
  •   Contains vitamin C and vitamin E

Cons

  • Only has 4 colors
  • Sold out (as of now)

Recommend???

YES

Urban Decay  Naked Skin Weightless Complete Coverage Concealer in the shade Fair Neutral
Other than thinking I should have gotten a darker shade, I love this concealer. It Is wonderful! Even with the light shade, it blends really well and it doesn’t cake underneath your eyes.

The coverage is so amazing! I tend to have darker circles under my eyes and it covers it all.

Like its name, it feels super weightless. Best concealer I’ve used thus far.

Pros

  • Light weight
  • Doesn’t cake
  • Great coverage
  • Blends well

Cons

  • None at the moment

Recommend???

YES

Maybelline FACESTUDIO® MASTER FIX™ SETTING + PERFECTING POWDER in translucent 
This setting powder is okay. It fulfills its promise of setting your makeup. To me, it feels very drying.

I personally don’t have oily skin. But, because it had a very drying effect on me, I would imagine this product would be great for oily skin.

Another issue I had with this powder is that it seems to give me a more white complexion, rather than translucent. I feel a bit pale after I brush the excess off my face.

The product didn’t come in a very large container; 0.21 oz. This size may be what is expected when purchasing setting powder in a local store. But with a generous use of the powder, the money can add up over time, especially if you choose to bake your face.

I’ve heard of this RCMA translucent powder that I would like to try. It is supposed to be good for all skin types, and it comes in a 3 oz container! Much bigger than the 0.21 oz, and the price is right.

Pros

  • Works well with setting your makeup
  • Inexpensive (about $12)

Cons

  • Feels drying
  • Comes in a small container
  • Makes skin look white

Julep Blank Canvas Mattifying Primer 

This, obviously, was not an Ulta purchase but I thought it deserved a mention, since it is also a new member to my daily makeup regime.

I was surprised when I first used this primer. It was my first time using a face primer and it did not disappoint.The primer does its job in creating more of a matte finish when I apply my foundation over the product.

It almost instantly feels like my skin is more even and smooth, after application. My hands even feel smooth afterwards; not like a moisturized smooth, but as if there is something filling in all the creases and bumps of my skin. It took very little to cover my face; maybe a pea size amount of the primer.

I received this product through the subscription service, Julep, in which I am a member. However, you don’t need to be a member to purchase this (I believe).

Pros

  • Mattifies my face
  • Spreads nicely with little product
  • Makes skin smooth and even

Cons

  • None at the moment


Don’t even ask why I put a picture of my Starbucks cup with an elephant. But you’ve got to admit that elephant is cute.

Anyways, there you have it. Hope my reviews were helpful to you.

I just bought a few new Morphe makeup brushes, a Too Faced bronzer, and Benefit setting spray, that I hope I will receive within the next 5 to 10 days. So, stand by for those reviews. They will be coming soon.

Have you guys had any good or bad experiences with the product mentioned above? Do you have other brands you enjoy using? I would love to hear about them!

 

Don’t forget to follow me via email or WordPress.

You can also follow me on Bloglovin and Tumblr.

18 thoughts on “Ulta Haul: Makeup Product Reviews

Leave a Reply

