Beauty · DIY · Reviews · Try Something New

Try Something New Series: DIY Fake Acrylic Nails

Happy weekend everyone!

I am always trying to expand my knowledge base and learn fun hacks from tutorials I find on YouTube. While watching some of these tutorials and “How to” videos, I was inspired to take this opportunity to learn how to do some of the things featured in those tutorials.

For my post today, I am introducing a new series called, “Try Something New”. In this series, I intend to research and try various hacks and “How to” videos as well as simply trying out things that I have never done before!

Introducing my VERY first “Try Something New” post!

DIY Fake Acrylic Nails

I am obsessed with the look of long fake nails with a matte finish. They just look so fun and on trend. When I have my own acrylics, I feel so put together. Give me a perfectly manicured nail and I could literally roll out of bed and feel like I looked on point (to a certain extent…lol).

Acrlic nails can get so expensive; $40 to $50, roughly, every 2 or 3 weeks. That may or may not include getting a fill when your nails get a bit too long.

If you have the money, That’s great! But if you are on a budget or have very little money at all, this can be impossible to fathom.

So, to hopefully help that problem, I sought out some YouTube videos on how to fake acrylic nails (for the video I referenced for this project, click here).

*FYI: I happened to have all the items on hand for this DIY. But, if you were to purchase everything, it would probably cost between $5 and $15.

Things You Will Need

  • Nail Polish Remover
  • Fake Nail Tips (you can buy at a local drug store)
  • Nail Glue (usually comes with the fake tips)
  • Clear Nail Polish
  • Colored Nail Polish of your choice (I chose blue)
  • Nail File
  • Nail Buffer
  • Cuticle Pusher (you can use anything that has a narrow and flat end)
  • Scissors
  • (Optional) Cuticle Softener

FullSizeRender

Here is How it was Done…

I first started by push my cuticles into the nail bed, and removed any excess skin attached to the nail. I happened to have a Cuticle Softener on hand, I received in my monthly subscription to Julep.

IMG_3162

Next, I buffed my entire nail with a nail buffer. Once I was done, I used nail polish remover on a foundation sponge (didn’t have cotton balls) to wipe away all the excess nail dust and dirt.

After applying the alcohol, I chose some fake nails that were slightly smaller than my actual nail. Choosing a slightly smaller tip will make the fake acrylic look more dainty. It also will make the finished product look less oversized and fake.

After I had chosen the tip sizes for each nail, I began to apply a very small drop of nail glue to the very tip of my natural nail. I would, immediately follow-up by placing the fake nail tips onto the top half of my natural nail, leaving the bottom half of my nail bed bare.

You have to be fairly quick and precise while applying the nails on top of the glue. The glue will dry fast, so the angle/direction you apply the nail is important to pay attention to when seeking out a faked Acrlic nail look.

IMG_3165IMG_3166

For a better secured tip, you will want to try and eliminate any air bubbles underneath the nail. As you can see, I didn’t do a very good job with my thumb.

Next, it is time to cut. Cut the excess nails tips with some regular scissor. You will want to cut in a fast motion rather than cutting precisely. It will hurt less, and you will be filing these down later.

Cut the nail slightly longer than you think you want them. It’s better to do this because you can always take off more of the nail, but you can’t add it back.

IMG_3167

After I cut my nails to roughly the size I wanted, I buffed the entire nail with the nail buffer. The idea is to not only make the nail polish adhere better to the nail, but we are also trying to smooth out the end of the fake nail that connects to our natural nail. That way they connect seamlessly and there is no bump where the tip and your natural nail meet.

I started just using a nail file rather than the buffer. It seemed to take away more of the fake nail than the buffer was, making it a more smooth transition.

Next you will file your nails into your desired shape. I attempted to file my nails into the coffin style shape. You could probably cut and shape the nail prior to applying them, to save time, but I chose to follow the video tutorial.



Now that they are filed into your desired shape, go over them again with the nail polish remover to remove all the nail dust.

Next, you will be applying a top coat first. The reason why is to continue to assist in the transition from the real nail to the fake nail when applying your actual colored polish.

You can apply the top coat to just the base, or you can apply it to the entire nail. I did it to my entire nail, but upon reflection, the nail polish may adhere better to the bare buffed part of the fake nail.

IMG_3181IMG_3183

Once that has dried for a couple minutes, apply your desired colored polish.I had to do about 2 coats of polish.

Here is the end result!

IMG_3210

They look pretty good from a distance…

…but up close, different story.

IMG_3201

The Process…

This process did take a while. I think it took me about 3 hours to finish both hands (keep in mind, it was my first time doing this and I was also trying to take pictures at the same time).

I probably would have been pretty happy with with the faked acrylic nail info hadn’t had so many issues applying my nail polish, as you can see from the picture above.

I always have issues with smudging my nails and just ruining them completely before they dry. I, unfortunately had the same issues with these nails. By midnight, I had already messed up my nail polish, and re-applied only to bump my nails again. My nails were not drying very fast and I was already headed into the fallowing morning. After everything, I ended up pulling them off so I could go to sleep.

My Thoughts…

Overall, I think this is a wonderful nail hack, but it takes A LOT of practice. I think that if I were to do this 4 or 5 more times, the results would be much better.

What do you think of my attempt at faked acrylic nails? Have you tried this or something similar before? Let me know in the comments!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Try Something New Series: DIY Fake Acrylic Nails

  1. I use to do my nails years ago…it can pretty expensive going every 2 to 3 weeks. Have you ever heard of Nailhur. I never tried them but I am thinking about it because the nails are inexpensive, you can wear as long or as short of a time as you want and you can try many different styles.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

