Holidays · Lifestyle

My Top 10 Favorite Fall Traditions

Pumpkins, Pumpkin Spice Lattes, fall leaves, sweaters, boots, turkeys and stuffing, family…if you’re like me, all of those words just bring this feeling of warmth, coziness and togetherness. I attribute most of those feelings to the traditions I have grown to enjoy over my lifetime.

Today, I wanted to share with you my 10 top favorite fall traditions (slightly leading into winter). I hope you enjoy these and that they inspire or remind you of your own family and traditions.

Pumpkin Spice Latte

IMG_9172.jpg

As soon as the Pumpkin Spice Lattes are advertised, you can expect to see one in my hand. This is one of my first must do traditions. My first Pumpkin Spice Latte of the year, signifies the beginning of fall for me!

Pumpkin Farm

pexels-photo-177653

Something about a farm full of fresh produce, pumpkins, and corn mazes just makes the season even more special. Especially if you add cider, kettle corn, and/or that pumpkin spice latte!

Corn Maze

Cornmaze.jpg

Oh corn maze…such a fun simple way to get into the fall spirit. Generally I stick with the haunted ones, but this year Jake and I went to Lake View Farms in North Plains, Oregon for our corn maze experience. It was very fun and different from what I’m use to.

Instead of just finding your way through the corn maze, you had to find different shaped hole-punches to fill up a punch card before leaving the maze. If you found all the hole-punches, you received a PRIZE!

The prizes were of course for kids but that is what makes it more fun, right?!

Trick-or-Treat

halloween-pumpkin-carving-face.jpg

I know I’m too old for Trick-or-Treating, but it is worth mentioning as one of my very fond memories and traditions.

Every year I would look forward to Trick-or-Treating at my friend Kaylee’s house. We would always buy the Jack O’ Lantern pizza from Papa Murphy’s, watch a Halloween movie, and head out for CANDY!

It may have been just my age, but people seemed to be more invested in decorating and creating “haunted houses” for Halloween when I was growing up. It made that day all the more fun and special.

If age wasn’t a factor, I guarantee you Kaylee and I would still be out with our pillow cases begging for candy. Right Kaylee? lol

Baking

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To me, baking is essential during this time of year. I grew up always baking pumpkin pies and cookies. Anything pumpkin, cinnamon, or apple is usually what comes out of my kitchen this time of year.

My favorite thing to make are pumpkin cookies with a powdered sugar frosting! Which I shared in my Fall Date Ideas Post.

Hot Apple Cider

cider.jpeg

During the Winter, it’s all about the hot chocolate with marshmallows. But during the fall, it is about the hot apple cider. Yet another warm autumn drink you will generally find in my hand as soon as the clock strikes midnight the first day of Fall.

The warmth of the apple flavor and those aromatic spices just transport me into those wonderful Fall memories.

Thanksgiving

EmXUwn6E.jpg

I know that Thanksgiving is when most families come together, and I truly love enjoying the time with my family. When we are all in town for the holiday, I not only I have the opportunity to celebrate Thanksgiving with them, but I will also get to start the Christmas season off with them as well!

This is generally what my Thanksgiving day looks like. I wake up to the smell of turkey cooking…hmmmm…that smell! Even if you don’t eat turkey, you have to admit that smell is worth it.

Then my husband and I will head to the store for the big, fat Thanksgiving day paper which has all the Black Friday sales. We head home to watch the Thanksgiving day parade, then I will put on Miracle on 34th Street (the original) while we finish cooking, and then we eat!

After we’ve eaten, taken naps, and recovered, my husband and I peruse the paper and make our game plan.

Depending on when the stores decide to open (hopefully not before 10pm on Thanksgiving), we will grab coffee and head out to do some Black Friday shopping till the wee hours of the morning.

BIRTHDAY!

food-sweet-cake-candles-6203.jpg

Yes, it’s my birthday! And yes, I know it’s not a tradition you would associate with fall, per se. However…

Birthday = Birthday money (hopefully)

November Birthday = Black Friday money!

My birthday landing right before Thanksgiving definitely makes it easier to buy a gift for me. Everyone close to me knows that I live for Black Friday during my birthday. Mostly because it has become fun for me to bundle up and wait outside (with my coffee) for the great sales to begin. Which leads me to…

Black Friday

black friday.jpeg

Since my birthday is always right before Thanksgiving, Black Friday has become a very much enjoyed tradition of mine. This isn’t just because of the money I hope to receive for my birthday. It is special because it generally signifies the start of Christmas in my mind (which is my favorite holiday).

First thing I do is grab my Gingerbread Latte from Starbucks. Then (as you can probably guess) I shop till the early hours of the morning, enjoying the Christmas music they have begun playing in the stores.

After sleeping my shopping excursion off, that is when I begin pulling out all my Christmas decorations and watching ALL my Christmas movies while I decorate.

Shopping on Black Friday has stayed fun  for me because I never go out truly knowing what I want, which allows for me to relax, peruse, and decide if something is worth waiting in that 12 mile line.

Though, with all these stores opening so early on Thanksgiving day, it has been ruining my groove! I remember when stores were still opening at 5 or 6am on Friday.

I hope this year stores choose to stay closed through Thanksgiving and open no earlier than midnight on Friday.

Christmas

christmas-xmas-christmas-tree-decoration.jpg

As you may have guess, the friday after Thanksgiving is the beginning of Christmas in my house. It is still technically fall so I felt like it was worth mentioning in my list, since all my traditions lead up to that day.

As I said before, I will sleep off the night before and immediately start decorating for Christmas. While I decorate, Christmas movies and/or music will be on in the background.

Once I’m done decorating, I will probably start baking and wrapping the gifts I bought that morning (at 2am…lol), watch more Christmas movies, and head back out to the mall to enjoy all the holiday decorations on display (maybe pick up some missed sale items from the night before).

shoes.jpeg

That is my list of Fall traditions. I hope you enjoyed it! Share your Fall traditions in the comments below or add your thoughts on my traditions. I would love to hear them!

Don’t forget to share and subscribe!

7 thoughts on “My Top 10 Favorite Fall Traditions

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you like it! I was too when I first started Black Friday Shopping. But now I’m more shocked that stores are opening on Thanksgiving. Whereas before, hardly any stores were open. Maybe the occasional grocery store.
      Sorry for my rant! Thank you for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

