Food

15 Minute Spinach with Gnocchi and Garlic Chips

I think I probably discovered this recipe about 5 years ago and it’s been a staple in my home ever since. It is super delicious and easy to make. It only takes about 15 to 20 minutes to make.

I wish I could say it was my own recipe but I first saw Rachel Ray make it on her show, back when it was still popular. You can click here to see the official recipe.

MTI1NjQyNzYxMzY5MDY1OTUw

What you will need:

  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 packages gnocchi (10 ounces each)
  • 4 large cloves garlic, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 pound baby spinach, stems discarded
  • Ground nutmeg
  • 1/3 cup grated Pecorino Romano cheese (a generous handful), plus more to pass around the table

First, you want to boil the gnocchi. It is really simple. Once you have a large pot of water boiling, throw the gnocchi in and salt the water. You’ll know it’s done when the gnocchi float to the top. Only takes a few minutes. Once they all float to the top, drain the water but reserve a 1/2 cup to 1 cup of the gnocchi water. This will eventually be added in with the rest of our ingredients, so you can play with how much gnocchi water you add, based on how soupy you like it.

Usually while I am boiling the gnocchi, I am usually cutting the garlic into thin slices. Then you take a large skillet and heat up the olive oil. Then cook the garlic in the oil over medium heat until they are chip like, about 5 minutes. It’s important to watch them carefully. If you over cook them, they will either burn or get bitter. You want a nice golden crisp to them. Once they are done, transfer to a paper towel-lined plate to drain the oil. Some of the garlic pieces will be done at different times. To avoid overcooking them, I usually take out the ones I think are done before the ones that aren’t.

Once all the garlic is removed from the pan, add the spinach to the oil in the skillet and cook until wilted, about 1 minute. Season with salt, pepper and nutmeg. Stir in the reserved pasta water, then stir in the gnocchi and cheese. I’ve used many different cheeses for this recipe; I’ve used cheddar, mozzarella & Parmesan. All have been good!

This recipe is suppose to be for four, but it almost always is just enough for my husband and I. I typically serve it in a large soup bowl, topped with the garlic chips and a sprinkle of cheese.

Hope you like this recipe as much as I do:)

References
Retrieved from http://www.rachaelray.com/recipes/less-than-15-minutes-spinach-with-gnocchi-and-garlic-chips

2 thoughts on “15 Minute Spinach with Gnocchi and Garlic Chips

Leave a comment